Slam Dunk!

image

Jamar Cooper (center, #1) with his Shaw teammates

When I became a music teacher in 2000 at my hometown middle school I had the opportunity to encounter some of the brightest  brightest students anywhere.  One student in particular was Jamar Cooper, (center#1) who recently joined the basketball team at Shaw University.

As you know, middle school students can be rough, to say the least. Jamar was one the most memorable, considerate students that I  came across. I remember him taking up for me and would help grading papers  and just was around great kid.  He probably won’t like me saying all this stuff, but I never forgot that kind of graciousness and gratitude in his eyes as a child, who is now a talented young man.

Please join me in this post celebrating his accomplishment!   There are so many bad things that people say about young black men and I want this post to celebrate something good.

Congratulations Jamar!

Mr. McCoy

Leave a Reply

