A Good Reason for a Great Meal: A Visit to Zaytinya

Today was a beautiful, sunny day in Washington, D. C, considering all of the unpredictable snow and cold weather that we have had in previous weeks.  It was a great day to hear the Washington Bach Consort, who I review regularly in an informal capacity.  For me today’s afternoon of music was a diversion from my chaotic world that led right to glorious food!  Just before the holidays, I had been given a several gift cards by Washington Life Magazine, and had not had a chance to use them.   My trek downtown led me through the doors of Zaytinya , a restaurant featuring Greek and Turkish cuisine.  Honestly, it was my first time experimenting out of my normal palette of Asian, American Fare and of course, you guessed it:  Soulfood.  The opportunity was presented itself and I dove in head first!

Image

The contemporary, sleek look of the building has fascinated me for a while.  I had admired it from afar in my sojourns downtown and now I was beholding it up close.  The lighting and design all made for an ambience that was quite delightful.  My waiter could tell (even though I thought I was being assertive.) I was not sure what to order, so he suggested I try the lunch mini plates-served in three courses for $25.  It sounded like a plan to me!  To start out, this basket of hot, fluffy pita-like bread was placed on the table.  It was divine!  It had the illusion of being light, but had I eaten all of them, I would not have had enough room for my meal.  What a delight found in simple bread!

Course 1:  Please forgive me that I do not have a picture of course one!  The fried eggplant was so tasty, I devoured it before I could even think to take a picture.

Course 2:  Well, you have heard people say that there are a million ways to cook chicken.  I believe that is true.  This was the grilled chicken with grilled blossom tomatoes and onions.  I must admit, I did not care for the yogurt like accompaniment to the meal. But overall, it was a tasty dish and I enjoyed the presentation of the food on the plate as well.

Image 

Course 3-It was a salmon filet cooked medium well.  The seasoning was not over done and you could really taste the freshness of the fish.  It was a perfect partner to the grilled chicken.  For a first timer to Mediterranean fare, I think I struck it rich with Zantinya.  The tasty meal had me prepared for dessert. 

Ah….Dessert!  The end to a lovely experience was Turkish Delight!  You never can go wrong with ice cream with a few embellishments!

Image

 

If you are looking for a wonderful new experience, try Zaytinya, and tell them that I sent you!

 

The restaurant is located at 701 9th Street, N.W. 202.638.0800

Image

Image

 

A musician living in Washington, D. C., Patrick D. McCoy is the Performing Arts Columnist for Washington Life Magazine and Director of Music at Trinity Church (DC).  Follow his work here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

