The African American Voice in Classical Music!

PatrickMcCoyFleming2014

Greetings!  I am Patrick D. McCoy, a thirty something year old African-American male living in Washington, D. C.   I am committed to informing the entire community about the wonderful artists in the arena of classical music.  I stand on the shoulders of the late arts reporter, Raoul Abdul, who kept the the community informed through his writings in The Amsterdam News!

As a freelance arts reporter, I have enjoyed interviews with internationally acclaimed artists such as bass Samuel Ramey, bass baritone Eric Owens, baritone Stephen Salters, mezzo-soprano Marietta Simpson, sopranos Brandie Sutton, Laquita Mitchell, tenor Ta’u Pupu’a and noted conductor, composer and organist Julian Wachner.  My concert and recital reviews have been cited noteably by Columbia Artists Management (Kathleen Battle, Tamara Wilson), Colbert Artists Management (Derek Lee Ragin) Barrett Vantage Artists (Ariana Zuckerman, Marietta Simpson) NewYork Baroque Dance Company and The Washington Chorus.

If you are ever in Washington, D. C., you can find me attending numerous concerts at The Music Center at Strathmore, The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and numerous other venues in the Metropolitan D. C. area.  I especially support the concerts of the Grammy Award winning Washington Chorus, Washington National Opera, The Choral Arts Society of Washington, Vocal Arts Society of Washington, Young Concert Artists, Inc. and Opera Lafayette.

I began publishing my articles and interviews at Examiner.com as The Kennedy Center Examiner. It is now called the DC Performing Arts Examiner, which I still publish on occasion.  With past articles and reviews published in the Afro American Newspaper and CBS Washington, I am also the Performing Arts Columnist for Washington Life Magazine. To date, for the publication I have interviewed Joshua Bell,Renée Fleming, Julian Wachner, Denyce Graves, Hilary Hahn, Yuja Wang, Nicole Cabell, Alyson Cambridge and a host of others.

My role in the music fabric of the city include being Immediate Pat President of the Ben Holt Memorial Branch of the National Association of Negro Musicians and as Minister of Music: Organist/Choirmaster of Trinity Episcopal Church.  My training was received at Virginia State University (BM’00) and Shenandoah Conservatory (MM’05) in voice, organ and conducting. I am a member of the Music Critic’s Association of North America and a brother of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

In this personal blog, you will find a bouquet of all of my projects and outings all in one place with a personal twist. Please visit the respective outlets that I write for to obtain the formal writings and publications.

Looking forward you following!

Leave a Reply

